Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content


Curriculum at Ascot State School

Ascot State School uses the Australian Curriculum to plan, teach, assess and report for English, Mathematics, Science and Humanities & Social Sciences (History, Geography). 

Our school continues to use the Queensland Curriculum to plan, teach, assess and report on The Arts, Technology, Studies of Society & Environment (Political and Economic Systems), Health & Physical Education and Languages Other Than English where the Australian Curriculum is not yet available for implementation.

The Australian Curriculum

The Australian Curriculum describes what young Australians should learn as they progress through schooling. It is the foundation for their future learning, growth and active participation in the Australian community. It sets out essential knowledge, understanding, skills and capabilities and provides a national standard for student achievement in core learning areas.

The Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) has a rigorous and robust curriculum development process to produce a high-quality national curriculum. ACARA draws on the best national talent and expertise to draft the curriculum and considers thousands of opinions from teachers, academics and parents to business, industry and community groups – to make improvements along the way.

The council of federal, state and territory education ministers is responsible for endorsing the Australian Curriculum. State and territory education authorities are responsible for implementation of the Australian Curriculum and for supporting schools and teachers.

The effectiveness of the Australian Curriculum is monitored to inform revision and further development. ​​