Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Secondary Navigation

Main page Content

School council


In 2013, the Ascot State School community and staff collaboratively decided to become an Independent Public School (IPS). As an IPS school we have greater autonomy in decision making processes to enhance student learning.  

At the end of 2014, the Ascot State School Council was formed as is required of all IPS schools. The council members include the Principal, P & C President, two elected staff, two elected parents plus two appointed community members.  

Current School Council Members for 2017


Gayle Coleman, Principal

Sarah Comiskey, P&C President

Nick Marsh, Staff member

Kristine Atkins, Staff member

Nick Allen​, Parent member

Dr Kate Thompson, Community Member

Dr Richi Nayak, Community Member

A few facts about the Ascot State School Council

  • The School Council approves, advises and monitors the strategic direction of the school.
  • The School Council’s role is to support administration and staff to ensure the best learning outcomes for our students.
  • All members of the School Council volunteer their time.  
  • The School Council is open and approachable. 
  • The School Council does not employ or recruit staff.
  • The School Council will meet six times annually to drive the strategic direction of the school.
  • Every two years there will nominations sought for the election of two staff and two parent positions.

We value your input

The School Council invites ‘traffic light’ suggestions from both staff and parents/carers. This correspondence will be tabled at each meeting. We want to hear what it is the school does well (green), what it can improve (orange) and what really needs attention (red). Just as the school community collaboratively decided to become an IPS, we need to work together to improve Ascot and ensure our children have bright futures with endless opportunities. Please email​ to submit your suggestion. Thank you for taking the time to do this. 

More information can be found on the Independent Public Schools information page.​​​